Enterprise Risk Management Award

The Public Risk Management Association’s (PRIMA) Outstanding Achievement Award for Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) honors a public entity that has effectively implemented an ERM program within its organization.

Criteria for Judging

  • Adoption of ERM by upper management
  • Risk appetite & tolerance are defined in ERM program
  • Stakeholders are clearly identified
  • ERM training is provided to staff
  • Organizational risks have been identified using a risk register
  • Risk owners have been assigned throughout the entire entity
  • Risk treatment plans have been established
  • Integrated performance measures, for example, early warning signals are used
  • Use of an ERM communication plan


  • Applicant must be the designated (voting) representative of a PRIMA public entity member.
  • Applicant must be a full-time practitioner of risk management. 


The winner will receive:

  • One complimentary registration to the 2017 Annual Conference held June 4-7, 2017 in Phoenix, AZ;
  • Recognition at PRIMA’s Annual Conference Awards Luncheon;
  • Recognition in PRIMA publications and website;
  • Recognition from peers across the United States and internationally; and
  • An engraved gift of recognition bearing the name of the recipient and the date.


PRIMA’s 2018 awards application cycle will open in December!