Awards & Recognition

Each year, PRIMA honors individuals and public entities that have excelled in their profession. See the 2019 Award Winners.

Nominate a colleague or yourself for 2020 Awards:

(Applications due March 2, Midnight)

2019 Award Winners

Meet the PRIMA members who have created a new program or product or displayed an overall commitment to the field of public sector risk management.

Public Risk Manager of the Year

James Curbeam, CPCU, ARM, AIC, MBA

Risk Manager, Las Vegas Valley Water District, Las Vegas, NV

Award Sponsored by AON


Public Risk Management Program

Let's See You Move!

Prince William County Government, VA

Public Risk Management Product

Risk Management Insurance & Contracts Procedure Manual & Training Presentation

Broward County, FL

Intergovernmental Risk Pool

Quick Takes On Safety

Minnesota Counties Intergovernmental Trust

Chapter Recognition


Annual Conference Scholarship Recipients

Brooke Alverson
Coshocton County BOCC
Coshocton, OH

Melissa Ledesma
City of Sugar Land
Sugar Land, TX

Jason Hardy
Grand Prairie ISD
Grand Prairie, TX

Becky Penado
City of Flagstaff
Flagstaff, AZ

Alonzo Johnson
City of North Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV

Retha Youell
City of College Station
College Station, TX

Non-Risk Manager Scholarship Recipients

Michael Swindle
Memphis Housing Authority
Memphis, TN

Kelly Wright
Midwest Public Risk
Independence, MO

Small Entity Scholarship Recipients

Mary Alvarez

City of Hidalgo

Hidalgo, TX

Belinda Raindl

San Jacinto River Authority

Mesquite, NV

Jamie Anderson

City of Fort Dodge

Fort Dodge, IA

Jim Ristow

City of Bellevue

Bellevue, NE

Christine Parks

Town of Ocean City

Ocean City, MD

Teri Smith

Town of Snowmass Village

Snowmass Village, CO

Annual Conference Student Scholarship Recipients
Zakaria Hagig
University of Colorado
Denver, Co
Sydney Stauffer
University of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI
Apply to a PRIMA Award
If you're a PRIMA member who has created a new program or product or displayed an overall commitment to the field of public sector risk management, you are eligible to submit applications for the PRIMA 2020 awards below:

The deadline to submit your application for the 2020 awards program is March 2, 2020.


For more information on PRIMA's awards program, contact membership@primacentral.org or 703.253.1270.